Who We Are

exSEL was launched in 2016 by a coalition of five statewide educational professional associations:

The initiative is supported by two educational non-profit organizations:

Christopher Horan from Horan Communications serves as the project manager and communications consultant.

 We are taking a leadership role in this initiative because we consistently hear from our members across the Commonwealth who are increasingly concerned that our schools do not have adequate time, training, support, and resources to develop students’ social-emotional skills. Without these essential competencies – such as decision-making, interpersonal communication, and self-regulation – too many of our students will not realize their full personal or academic potential during their elementary, secondary, or post-secondary schooling, or in careers and life.

Steering Committee:

Tara Bennett
Principal, Millbury Junior/Senior High School
Past President, MSSAA

Cathy Cummins
Executive Director, Assabet Valley Collaborative
Past President and Board Member, MOEC

John D’Auria
President, Teachers 21

Chad d’Entremont
Executive Director, Rennie Center

Margie Ross Decter
Member, Newton School Committee
Board Member, MASC

George Ferro
Principal, Whitman Middle School
President, MSSAA

Jill Flanders
Associate Director, MESPA

Denise Fronius
Principal, Stony Brook Elementary School
President, MESPA

William N. Gaine*
Executive Director, MSSAA

Jenifer Handy
Communications Director, MASC

Glenn Koocher*
Executive Director, MASC

Chris McGrath
Director of Operations, MASS

Jennifer Poulos
Associate Director, Rennie Center

Andre Ravenelle
Superintendent, Fitchburg Public Schools
President, MASS

Rick Rogers
Executive Director, MESPA

Tom Scott*
Executive Director, MASS

Stephen J. Theall
Executive Director, MOEC


* Executive Committee

Download a flier about exSEL.